Cafe Three-Zero Take 7 Author Interview – with Kay Lawrence

Each week we are featuring a couple of our soon to be published authors, and inviting them to answer 7 questions about their writing and inspirations. Our third interview features Kay Lawrence.  You can find out a little more about Kay on her author page… 

Q1  Give us some background on yourself?

My background is truly dull. I’d have to resort to fiction to make it interesting and that would be fibbing, which my mother told me I should never do.

Q2  What was the basis for your story in Tales from the Cafe, Vol 1?

I was interested to explore the impact an early trauma would have upon a person for the rest of their life. The location was chosen because I love the coast. The trauma came from a long-held fear.

Q3  Why did you want to become an author?

It wasn’t a conscious decision, I just always loved to write. Writing and art were the only things I ever really excelled at in school. The rest of it was just slog, boredom and bewilderment.

Q4  Any advice for fledgling authors?

I’ll let you know when I stop being one!

Q5  What authors do you like and admire?

I love Conan Doyle’s writing. I have a really old and horrendously battered copy of the Sherlock Holmes Memoirs. It’s my favourite possession. I turn to Terry Pratchett when I need cheering up. If I can learn even a fraction of his observational skills I shall be happy.

Q6  What do you do when you’re not writing fiction?

Daydream.

Q7  What will you do if you become famous?

Panic and find a large rock to hide under.

Leave a comment

Filed under CafeThreeZero updates

Leave a Reply

