Cafe Three-Zero Take 7 Author Interview – with Phil Wilson

Each week we are featuring a couple of our now published authors, and inviting them to answer 7 questions about their writing and inspirations. They have all contributed to our first eBook, Tales From The Cafe: Vol 1, details of which are posted on our home page, along with where you can purchase. Our latest interview features Phil Wilson.  Be sure to check out  his author page for more information…

Q1  Give us some background on yourself?

I live in SE London with my family (wife, two kids, and the cat from next door since my own cat passed away). I work in a job in healthcare that I love. I am doing an open BA with the OU (mainly in English and Creative Writing). I aim to retire in four and a half years and to walk the Camino de Santiago and then to see where this takes me.

Q2  What was the basis for your story in Tales from the Cafe, Vol 1?

I wanted to explore the act of remembering by a quiet hero.

Q3  Why did you want to become an author?

I love telling stories. I love the effect words can have on the reader.

Q4  Any advice for fledgling authors?

Just write, and if you can, write and show to others and listen to what they say. Then write again. And read. And don’t listen to me; what do I know?

Q5  What authors do you like and admire?

Ernest Hemingway (early), John Irving, Douglas Adams (all), Stephen King, F Scott Fitzgerald (TITN), Jonathan Meads, Chris Claremont, Milan Kundera, John Steinbeck, Frank Miller, Georges Remi (Herge), and loads of others.

Q6  What do you do when you’re not writing fiction?

I love taking photos, watching movies (from the classics to art house independents and some Woody Allen) and progressive rock bands (Porcupine Tree), drinking real ale and walking.

Q7  What will you do if you become famous?

Duck and cover.

Leave a comment

Filed under CafeThreeZero updates

Leave a Reply

